New Zealand Ends India’s Journey To World Cup Finals

With losing the semi-final match to New Zealand India lost its chance to reach the final of the cricket world cup 2019. This time India had a chance to reach a step further than 2015. After their win in the Champion’s Trophy in 2013 India reached the semi-finals of all the World cup tournaments but still have no title to show to the world. Indian team had potential to reach the final but their hard luck came yet again in their way to world cup finals. The stadium that was full of Indian supporters that had been cheering the team all through the match suddenly could not believe their eyes when they saw their wickets falling one after the other. For India Dhoni scored 50 and Jadeja was able to hit 77. The best bowlers were Kumar and Jasprit Bhumra.

Earlier in the game New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat. With only 23 balls left to brighten up the chances of winning the semi-final, the game had to be stopped due to rain, at that time the total score of New Zealand team was 211/5 after 46.1 overs. Due to heavy rain that day the game had to be shifted to the reserve day. The next day New Zealand resumed their game and took the score to 239/8 in 50 overs. The highest scorer from New Zealand team was their senior most player Ross Taylor, who made 74 runs and Williamson who made 67. Henry was the best bowler who bowled 10 overs, one maiden over, 37 runs for 3 wickets.

If we take a look at the New Zealand cricket team they are very talented and skillful players but their team is always underestimated. They have been proving their superiority in not only batting and bowling, but they have been exceptional in their fielding too. Their fielders do not refrain from diving to take a catch. Each fielder is always alert that is why the chances of misfield are minimum. Their bowlers maintain their line and length and they do not give any extra runs.

In the world cup of 2019 the New Zealand has been underestimated and according to the experts if it is compared to the rest of the team participating in the world cup it is far better than many other teams. One thing that can be noticed in the game of New Zealand is their filed placing and correct order in which the players come to play. This is a quality that lacks in most of the teams who could not make to the semi-finals. Reaching the world cup finals successively is not an easy task and New Zealand is lucky enough to reach it again this year. The team will rest for a few days and meet the other finalist on Sunday 14th July 2019.

Millions of fans all over the world are anxiously waiting for the final game and the New Zealand team is very positive about their final game. We wish both the final playing teams best of luck.

Click Here To Reveal Scorecard

New Zealand 239/8 (50.0 ov) RR: 4.78

Martin Guptill

c Virat Kohli b Jasprit Bumrah

Henry Nicholls

b Ravindra Jadeja

Kane Williamson (C)

c Ravindra Jadeja b Yuzvendra Chahal

Ross Taylor

run out (Ravindra Jadeja)

Jimmy Neesham

c Dinesh Karthik b Hardik Pandya

Colin De Grandhomme

c MS Dhoni b Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Tom Latham (W)

c Ravindra Jadeja b Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Mitchell Santner

not out

Matt Henry

c Virat Kohli b Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Trent Boult

not out

Lockie Ferguson

Extras: 18

(b – 0, w – 13, no – 0, lb – 5, penalty – 0)

TOTAL: 239/8 (50.0 OV, 4.78 runs per over)

Fall of Wickets:

1-1 (Martin Guptill, 3.3 ov), 2-69 (Henry Nicholls, 18.2 ov), 3-134 (Kane Williamson, 35.2 ov), 4-162 (Jimmy Neesham, 41 ov), 5-200 (Colin de Grandhomme, 44.4 ov), 6-225 (Ross Taylor, 48 ov), 7-225 (Tom Latham, 48.1 ov), 8-232 (Matt Henry, 49 ov)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Jasprit Bumrah
Hardik Pandya
Ravindra Jadeja
Yuzvendra Chahal

India 221/10 (49.3 ov) RR: 4.46

KL Rahul

c Tom Latham b Matt Henry

Rohit Sharma

c Tom Latham b Matt Henry

Virat Kohli (C)

lbw b Trent Boult

Rishabh Pant

c Colin de Grandhomme b Mitchell Santner

Dinesh Karthik

c Jimmy Neesham b Matt Henry

Hardik Pandya

c Kane Williamson b Mitchell Santner

MS Dhoni (W)

run out (Martin Guptill)

Ravindra Jadeja

c Kane Williamson b Trent Boult

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

b Lockie Ferguson

Yuzvendra Chahal

c Tom Latham b Jimmy Neesham

Jasprit Bumrah

not out


Extras: 16

(b – 0, w – 13, no – 0, lb – 3, penalty – 0)

TOTAL: 221/10 (49.3 OV, 4.46 runs per over)

Fall of Wickets:

1-4 (Rohit Sharma, 1.3 ov), 2-5 (Virat Kohli, 2.4 ov), 3-5 (KL Rahul, 3.1 ov), 4-24 (Dinesh Karthik, 10 ov), 5-71 (Rishabh Pant, 22.5 ov), 6-92 (Hardik Pandya, 30.3 ov), 7-208 (Ravindra Jadeja, 47.5 ov), 8-216 (MS Dhoni, 48.3 ov), 9-217 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 49 ov), 10-221 (Yuzvendra Chahal, 49.3 ov)

Trent Boult
Matt Henry
Lockie Ferguson
Colin De Grandhomme
Jimmy Neesham
Mitchell Santner

New Zealand won by 18 runs

Player Of The Match

Matt Henry
New Zealand

Let us know your opinion in the comment section below.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this. AcceptRead More